An Introduction to the Chakra System


Chakra is a Sanskrit word, and it means "wheel," or "vortex," because that's what it looks like when we look at it. Each chakra is like a solid ball of energy interpenetrating the physical body, in the same way that a magnetic field can interpenetrate the physical body.

The chakras are not physical. They are aspects of consciousness in the same way that the auras are aspects of consciousness. The chakras are more dense than the auras, but not as dense as the physical body, but they interact with the physical body through two major vehicles, the endocrine system and the nervous system. Each of the seven chakras is associated with one of the seven endocrine glands, and also with a particular group of nerves called a plexus. Thus, each chakra can be associated with particular parts of the body and particular functions within the body controlled by that plexus or that endocrine gland associated with that chakra.

Crown Chakra - Violet
Third Eye (Brow) Chakra - Indigo
Throat Chakra - Blue
Heart Chakra - Green
Solar Plexus Chakra - Yellow
Sacral (Navel) Chakra - Orange
Root (Base) Chakra - Red

A Quick overview of The Functions of the 7 Major Chakras from Root Chakra to Crown Chakra

Root (Base) Chakra - Red

The Root (Base) ChakraThe Root Chakra is associated with the Reproductive Glands. It is the centre of physical energy, grounding and self-preservation. The possible physical issues affected by an out of balance Root Chakra are auto-immune disease, arthritis, cancer, AIDS, CFS, EBV, fatigue, kidney, spinal column. The Root Chakra governs the back, feet, hips, spine and legs.


Endocrine Gland - Adrenals
Areas of Body Governed - Spinal Column and Kidneys

Sacral (Navel) Chakra - Orange

The Sacral (Navel) ChakraThe Sacral Chakra is associated with the Genito-Urinary Tract. It is the centre of emotional desire, emotion, creativity, spirituality and intention. The possible physical issues affected by an out of balance Sacral Chakra are gall & kidney stones, reproductive organs, vaginal cancer, prostate cancer, pelvic disease. The Sacral Chakra governs the sexual organs, bladder, bowel and lower intestine.

Endocrine Gland - Gonads
Areas of Body Governed - Reproductive System

Solar Plexus Chakra - Yellow

The Solar Plexus ChakraThe Solar Plexus Chakra is associated with the Digestive System/Adrenal Glands. It is the centre of personal power, ambition, intellect and astral force. The possible physical issues affected by an out of balance Solar Plexus Chakra are digestive/adrenal organ illness, diabetes, hypoglycaemia, digestive disorders. The Solar Plexus Chakra governs the stomach, upper intestines, upper back, upper spine.

Endocrine Gland - Pancreas
Areas of Body Governed - Stomach, Liver, Gall Bladder and Nervous System

Heart Chakra - Green

The Heart ChakraThe Heart Chakra is associated with the Circulatory System/Thymus Gland. It is the centre of compassion, love, group consciousness and spirituality. The possible physical issues affected by an out of balance Heart Chakra are heart problems, thymus, blood, circulatory, involuntary muscles. The Heart Chakra governs the heart, lungs, blood and circulation.

Endocrine Gland - Thymus
Areas of Body Governed - Heart, Blood, Vagus Nerve and Circulatory System

Throat Chakra - Blue

The Throat ChakraThe Throat Chakra is associated with the Respiratory System/Thyroid Gland. It is the centre of sound, communication, speech, writing and thought expression. The possible physical areas affected by an out of balance Throat Chakra are neck problems, lungs, hypoactive thyroid, throat, jaw, alimentary canal, vocal cords. The Throat Chakra governs the throat, thyroid, mouth, teeth, tongue, jaw.

Endocrine Gland - Thyroid
Areas of Body Governed - Bronchial and Vocal Apparatus, Lungs and Alimentary Canal

Third Eye (Brow) Chakra - Indigo

The Third Eye (Brow) ChakraThe Third Eye Chakra is associated with the Autonomic Nervous System/ Pituitary Gland. It is the centre of psychic power, spirit energies, higher intuition and light. The possible physical areas affected by an out of balance Third Eye Chakra are cerebellum, nose, pituitary, central nervous system, left eye. The Third Eye Chakra governs the pituitary gland, pineal gland, skull, eyes, brain, nervous system, the senses.

Endocrine Gland - Pituitary Gland
Areas of Body Governed - Lower Brain, Left Eye, Ears, Nose and Nervous System

Crown Chakra - Violet

The Crown ChakraThe Crown Chakra is associated with the Central Nervous System/ Pineal Gland. It is the centre of enlightenment, dynamic thought, truth and oneness. The possible physical areas affected by an out of balance Crown Chakra are cerebrum, pineal gland, right eye. The Crown Chakra governs the top of spinal cord, brain stem, pain centre, nerves.

Endocrine Gland - Pineal
Areas of Body Governed - Upper Brain and Right Eye

Clicking on the Chakra names above will provide more information about each Chakra. If you would like to read more information about the colours that are associated with each chakra, how colours affects us and how colour plays an important role in Crystal Healing then please refer to the section Crystal Colour Therapy.

© 2008 - 2015 - The Crystal Healing Shop (

Next Post

  • Emma Brown
Comments 2
  • Gulraj Bajaj
    Gulraj Bajaj

    I’m really very happy to connect with you. Information about Chakras is very nice and Helpful.

  • Rose

    I loved your above article on Charkas. Would love this on a medium to large wall poster with your descriptions & image with colours indicators, do you sell them?
    Kind regards

Leave a comment
Your Name:*
Email Address:*
Message: *

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published.

* Required Fields